IIT's in India

List Of IIT's in India

List of IIT in India

The Indian Institutes of Technology, also known as IITs, are a set of 23 (as of May 21, 2018) autonomous public engineering and technology institutes that the Indian Parliament designated as Institutes of National Importance. The first was established in 1951 at Kharagpur, then IIT Bombay in 1958, IIT Madras in 1959, and IIT Kanpur in 1960. IIT Delhi was founded in 1963, and the most recent expansion was made in 2016 with the approval of six new IITs in Tirupati, Palakkad, Dharwad, Bhilai, Goa, and Jammu as well as the conversion of ISM Dhanbad to an IIT.

The Institutes of Technology Act, 1961, which established their authority and deemed them institutions of national importance, governs these prestigious institutions. In terms of the IITs’ organisational structure, the President of India, who serves as an ex officio visitor to the IITs, is at the top. He or she is assisted by the IIT Council, which is made up of the minister responsible for technical education in the Union Government, the chairmen and directors of all IITs, the chairman of the University Grants Commission, the director general of CSIR, the chairman and director of IISc, three members of Parliament, the Joint Council Secretary of Ministry of Human Resource and Development, and three appointees each of the Union Government, AICTE, and the Visitor.

The 23 higher education institutions spread across India are overseen on a daily basis by the registrar, who serves as the IITs’ main administrative official.

The Indian Institutes of Technology (IITs) are autonomous institutions linked by a common IIT Council, which oversees their administration. The Minister of Human Resource Development is the ex-officio Chairperson of the IIT Council. In 2017, there were 11,032 seats for undergraduate programs in all IITs. Admission to these programs is through the competitive Joint Entrance Examination (JEE) held annually in April-May to select 10,000 students from 350,000 applicants for admission in various engineering and technology branches.

IITs also offer graduate degrees such as M.Sc, MBA, etc. and the admission to these programs is through Common Admission Test (CAT), Joint Admission Test for M.Sc. (JAM), and Common Entrance Examination for Design (CEED). IIT Guwahati and IIT Bombay also offer undergraduate design programs.

Postgraduate programs in M.Tech, MS, and PhD in engineering are administered by older IITs and admissions are based on Graduate Aptitude Test in Engineering (GATE).

IITs have autonomy to draft their own curricula and offer technology degrees (B.Tech) at the undergraduate level, instead of Bachelor of Engineering (BE) degrees offered by other Indian universities and engineering institutes.

IITs are members of LAOTSE, an international network of universities in Europe and Asia, allowing for student and scholar exchange with universities in other countries.

S.NoNameFounded EstablishedPlace/State
1 IIT Roorkee18472001Uttarakhand
2IIT (BHU) Varanasai19192012Uttar Pradesh
3IIT (ISM)19262016Jharkhand
4IIT Kharagpur19511951West Bengal
5IIT Bombay19581958Maharashtra
6IIT Kanpur19591959Uttar Pradesh
7IIT Madra19591959Tamil Nadu
8IIT Delhi19611963Delhi
9IIT Guwahati19941994Assam
10IIT Ropar20082008Punjab
11.IIT Bhubaneswar20082008Odisha
12.IIT Gandhinagar20082008Gujarat
13IIT Hyderabad20082008Telangana
14IIT Jodhpur20082008Rajasthan
15IIT Patna20082008Bihar
16IIT Indore20092009Madhya Pradesh
17IIT Mandi20092009Himachal Pradesh
18IIT Pllakkad20152015Kerala
19IIT Tirupati20152015Andhra Pradesh
20IIT Bhilai20162016Chattisgarh
21IIT Goa20162016Goa
22IIT Jammu20162016Jammu and Kashmir
23.IIT Dharwad20162016Karnataka